Race is on in Baldwin Township

Six candidates will compete for two seats on the Baldwin Town Board during the March 13 township elections, while some interesting races are forming in other townships in the Princeton area.

There are two seats open in Baldwin Township, the seat for Supervisor A and the seat for Supervisor B.

Incumbent Larry Handshoe is seeking re-election to his seat. Handshoe is completing his first term as a Baldwin supervisor after being elected in 2009.

He is being challenged by Brad Schumacher, Trevor Olene and Tim Kane.

Schumacher ran a year ago for the seat vacated by Jim Oliver, who moved out of the township. Randy Atwood won that race a year ago. Olene is a newcomer to the Baldwin political landscape. Kane has been involved with township activities and was a member of the original Healthy Community Partnership.

It will be incumbent Jay Swanson against Chuck Nagle in the Supervisor B race.

Swanson, the township chairman, is also finishing his first term in office. He will be challenged by Nagle, also an original member of the Healthy Community partnership. He is a former Baldwin firefighter and has been involved in many township initiatives.

Princeton and Wyanett are among the area townships that have political races as the filings were about to close on Tuesday, Jan. 17 for the annual township elections on March 13. The terms for supervisor are three years and the terms for clerk are two years.

Joe Gerold is challenging Princeton Township Supervisor Mark Riverblood who is running for re-election in district 5. Supervisor Eugene Stoeckel in district 3 filed for re-election with no opposition.

Wyanett Township Supervisor Tom Burdick did not file for re-election and Travis Wood and George Bergquist filed to run for that seat. Wyanett clerk Jim McLaughlin filed for re-election.

Blue Hill Supervisor Roger J. Nelson filed for re-election, as did clerk Jan Anderson.

Greenbush Township Supervisor Steve Dolin filed for re-election. Spencer Brook Township Supervisor Steve Smith filed for re-election and so did clerk Jennifer Jenkins. Santiago Township supervisor Jeff Pappenfus and clerk Kathy Woolard also filed for re-election.