Candidates announced for Seventh District bench


Mille Lacs County Times


Gov. Mark Dayton is considering three candidates to fill the vacancy created when Judge Steven P. Ruble retired from Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District in Mille Lacs County.

The Commission on Judicial Selection announced the St. Cloud, Morrison County and Tribal attorneys as candidates last week.

The first candidate, Sarah Hennesy, is currently a civil legal aid attorney with St. Cloud Legal Services where she practices in family, government assistance and Social Security law. Previously, she worked as an associate attorney with Damiani & Damiani, P.C., representing English and Spanish-speaking clients in criminal and family law matters. She also served as deputy public defender with the Alexandria Public Defender’s Office in Virginia. Hennesy is co-chair of the Stearns County Family Violence Council and is a member of the Oak Hill Elementary School Parent Teacher Student Association.

Todd Kosovich, the second candidate, is an assistant Morrison County attorney. He prosecutes all felony cases from their first appearance through trial, sentencing and probation violations. Kosovich previously served as an assistant Watonwan County attorney where he was responsible for all adult criminal cases at petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor level offenses. He is an active member of the Minnesota talking Book Network and is a member of the Hands of Hope Resource Center Board of Directors.

The final candidate, Judge Richard Olson, currently serves as the tribal judge for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe where he is responsible for hearing all civil, criminal, juvenile and child welfare petitions, complaints and motions. Previously, he served as the senior deputy solicitor general for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe. He also worked as an assistant prosecutor with the Cherokee Nation in Oklahoma. Judge Osburn is a former division officer in the U.S. Naval Reserve.

The Seventh Judicial District includes Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd and Wadena counties. According to the Commission, the appointment will be made within the next few weeks.