Swimming duo named all-conference

Princeton High School swimmers Sam Christenson and Tony Kottke have been named to the all-conference team in the Mississippi 8 Conference.

Christenson represented Princeton in the 100 breaststroke at the Minnesota State Swimming and Diving tournament last month at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center. Christenson was also named to the all-section team in Section 4A.

Kottke was one of the top divers in both the conference and section.

Nicholas Johnson earned all-conference honorable mention honors.

Two swimmers were also honored at the conference level for their work both in the pool and in the classroom. Earning all-conference academic honors were Gino Fraboni and Nicholas Johnson.

The swimming team presented a number of awards at its recent year-end banquet.

Most Valuable swimmer honors went to Christenson. Colin Alferness and Tucker Bell were honored as the most improved swimmers.

Nicholas Johnson was named the hardest worker, Christenson was named most dedicated.

Princeton’s Tommy Milam was the 2011-12 rookie of the year.

Ian Collins, Fraboni, and Bailey Carlberg were named captains of the 2012-13 boys swimming team.