Races set in all county board races

There will be a race in every county commissioner district in Mille Lacs County next fall.

That became a fact on June 5 when filings closed and there were at least two filings in each district.

In District 1, which includes just the city of Princeton, incumbent Jack Edmonds filed, as did Genny Reynolds.

In District 2, which includes the townships of Princeton, Greenbush and Milo, as well as the city of Pease, incumbent Dan Whitcomb filed, as did Tim Wilhelm. Both are former members of the Princeton School Board.

In District 3, which includes the cities of Milaca and Foreston, and Milaca Township, incumbent Phil Peterson is being challenged by Laurie Gahm and Philip Eggen.

In District 4, which includes the city of Bock and the townships of Bogus Brook, Borgholm, Page, Hayland, Dailey, Mudgett, Bradbury, Onamia and Lewis, incumbent Roger Tellinghuisen is being challenged by Greg McQuay and Rick Savitski.

In District 5, which includes the cities of Onamia, Wahkon and Isle, and townships of Kathio, South Harbor, Isle Harbor and East Side, incumbent Frank Courteau did not file for re-election, something he hinted at this spring.

Filing for that position were Bill Hill, David Olson and Katie Vivant.

There will be a primary election on Aug. 14 for the races in District 3, District 4 and District 5.

Time to file for city and school board races opens July 31 and closes August 14. A $2 filing fee is required.

On the Princeton School Board there will be five seats open, those held by Dennis Dehn, Jim Gibbs, Erin Johnson, Kathy Kraft and Jeremy Miller.

There are three seats open on the Princeton City Council. Those held by Mayor Jeremy Riddle, and councilors Dick Dobson and Victoria Hallin.