Brannan, Larsen pace Stones Throw tournament

Chris Brannan won the men’s championship flight while Nancy Larsen claimed the women’s championship flight title at the annual Stones Throw Golf Course Championship (Calcutta) Tournament Sunday, July 15.

The meet used a match-play format.

Brannan opened his bid by defeating Mike Kuperus, then topped Shawn Nelson in the semifinals. He defeated Randy Siemers in the finals. Siemers moved to the finals by stopping Clay Hoeck in the first round and Todd Hasz in the semifinals.

Kuperus defeated Mike Herr for the consolation title. Joe Hasz was also in the flight.

Larsen began play by topping Alana Pearson, then advanced to the finals by stopping Karen Baker in the semifinals.

The title match was a family affair as Larsen topped her daughter, Alli Hasling. Hasling defeated Tammy Marudas in the first round, then topped Wendy Hoeck in the semifinals.

Elaine Kuperus topped Pearson for consolation honors. Carolyn Fox was also in the flight.

•Travis Moyer won the men’s first flight. He topped Doug Reetz in the first round and Todd Norgart in the semifinals before defeating Al Siemers in the title match. Siemers moved to the finals by topping Chad Banks in the first round and Tony Hoeck in the semifinals.

Kirk Eggen topped Banks for consolation honors.

•Shane Marudas defeated Ryan Olson for honors in the men’s second flight. Marudas topped Greg Anderson in the opening round, then topped Joe Lemmon in the semifinals while Olson topped Brandon Jansen and Nick Wilken to reach the finals.

Kirk Swenson stopped Drew Olson for the consolation title.

•Aaron Larsen defeated Ben Peterson to win the men’s third flight. Larsen stopped Steve Fuchs in the first round and Zach Zimmer in the semifinals while Peterson topped Gregg Johnson in the first round and Ron LeBlanc in the semifinals.

Fuchs won consolation honors by topping Josh Patnode.

•Neil Westling won the men’s fourth flight. He stopped Dustin Krotzer in the first round and Jeff Kuperus in the semifinals, then topped Ken Muller in the title match. Muller gained the finals by stopping Bob Dohre and Adam Kassa.

Doug Erickson topped Davis Los for the consolation title.

The annual supper and auction were held Saturday night.