Primary elections slated for Tuesday, Aug. 14

The township, city and county primary election will take place Tuesday, Aug. 14 this year. The polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

For the U.S. Senate seat, two Independents, three Republicans and four DFL candidates will participate in the primary election. A three way race exists between Republican contenders vying for the position with Bob Carney, Jr., Kurt Bills and David Carlson. The DFL primary election is between Sen. Amy Klobuchar, “Dick” Franson, Darryl Stanton and Jack Edward Shepard. The two Independents running for the senate are Glen R. Anderson Menze and Stephen Williams.

In the Eighth District of the U.S. House of Representatives, three DFLers are facing off this primary. Jeff Anderson, Rick Nolan and Tarryl Clark are running for the House against the lone Republican rival Rep. Chip Cravaack.

Republican incumbent for the Minnesota Senate Dave Brown will face the winner of the DFL primary between Sally Knox and Ron Thessen in November’s election.

At the county level, Philip Eggen, Phil Peterson and Laurie J. Gahm will contend in next Tuesday’s primary for District 3 County Commissioner.

City and school board candidates will not face primary contests. The filing deadline for candidates seeking to run for Milaca city offices or Milaca Public Schools’ board is 5 p.m. next Tuesday, Aug. 14.