Riddle hanging it up as mayor; four leaving school board

Princeton will have a new mayor in January 2013 and four new school board members.

Princeton Mayor Jeremy Riddle, in front of the Rivertown Crossing development.

Mayor Jeremy Riddle did not file for re-election by the Tuesday, Aug. 14 filing deadline.

Current Princeton City Council member Paul Whitcomb was the only candidate to file for the seat.

Whitcomb was originally elected to the city council in 1998 and began his service in 1999.

He was subsequently re-elected in 2002, 2006 and 2010.  Whitcomb has two years remaining on his city council term.

The city council will have to appoint a successor to Whitcomb’s seat if he becomes mayor.

City council incumbent’s Dick Dobson and Victoria Hallin will not be challenged in the upcoming election.

Four school board members will not seek re-election in November. Board chair Kathy Kraft, Dennis Dehn, Jim Gibbs and Erin Johnson did not file for re-election. Jeremy Miller did. Three others filed for office: Chad Young, Chuck Nagle and Howard Vaillancourt. That’s four candidates for the five seats. The top write-in will get the fifth seat.