Write-ins fail in school race

An amazing 1,244 write-in votes were cast in the Princeton School Board race. And despite a public campaign to fill the seat with a write-in candidate, all four candidates who filed for the four open four-year positions gained election to the school board.

The identities of the write-in candidates were not know when the Union-Eagle went to press early Wednesday morning. Nor was the winner of a two-year board seat that was filled by a candidate chosen as a write-in.

With just Blue Hill Township remaining to be counted among the 37 school district precints, it was incumbent Jeremy Miller who came out as the top vote-getter. Miller received 4,789 votes, Chad Young received 4,418 votes, Howard Vaillancourt received 4,301 votes and Chuck Nagle received 3,617. A third of Nagle’s votes came from the two precincts in his home of Baldwin Township. So did about a third of the write-in votes.

Kathy Kraft, Dennis Dehn, Jim Gibbs and Erin Johnson did not file for re-election. Their departures came after board members Suzie Spain and Karen Metcalf resigned from the board in late 2011.

Erin Johnson was chosen by the board to fill Metcalf’s seat, but chose to not seek re-election.

Miller was selected by the school board to fill Spain’s term and was the only incumbent to filed for re-election.