Two races emerge during filings for election in Baldwin

Baldwin Township will have two election races in Baldwin’s March 12 township election ballots that should grab the attention of the voters. The information comes out of the township election filings that closed on Jan. 15.


Baldwin Supervisor Randy Atwood, who filed for reelection, is facing Atwood’s old challenger from two years ago – Brad Schumacher – who Atwood beat by four votes in that election. Former Supervisor Jim Oliver had vacated his seat and Atwood and Schumacher ran to fill out the two remaining years of the normal three-year term of supervisor. (The term


for treasurer is two years.)

A recount after the March 8, 2011 election upheld the tally of Atwood receiving 122 votes and Schumacher getting 118.

Baldwin’s other supervisor race should interest Baldwin voters because of the apparent legalities involved. In the race for the Supervisor D position, Chuck Nagle, who was recently installed on the Princeton School Board, is opposing Baldwin Township Supervisor Tom Rush, who filed for reelection.

Baldwin Township Clerk Cathy Stevens said on Tuesday that after checking with an attorney, she understands that because Baldwin is an “urban township,” Nagle would have to choose between being on the township board or the school board if he should win the Baldwin election. She said the law does not prohibit Nagle for running in the Baldwin election.

Nagle ran unsuccessfully against township Supervisor Jay Swanson last March. Nagle and Swanson ran a hard campaign against each other in that election which resulted in Swanson receiving 329 votes to Nagle’s 133.

Filings in other townships


Supervisor Dennis Haubenschild filed for reelection, and treasurer Cathy Lundeen filed for reelection in Wyanett Township.


Supervisor Jim Beck filed for reelection in Greenbush Township.


Princeton Township Supervisor Jim Kusler filed for reelection.

Bogus Brook

Supervisor Jim Kragt and treasurer Garry Gray filed for reelection in Bogus Brook Township.

Blue Hill

Supervisor Bill Andresen filed for reelection in Blue Hill Township. Marlene Nelson filed for the treasurer spot. Blue Hill treasurer Isaac Kelley did not file for reelection.


Supervisor Dave Jehoich and treasurer Jeff Anderson filed for reelection in Santiago Township.

Spencer Brook

Treasurer Debra Nelson filed for reelection, and Arvid Jenkins filed for the supervisor seat being vacated by           who did not file for reelection.