WISSOTA racers stir up the dirt at Princeton Speedway

Friday night WISSOTA Amsoil Dirt Track Racing Series action was in full swing at the Princeton Speedway with some exciting yet tough battles taking place. Justin Pogones, Jason VandeKamp, Kyle Thell, Dan Gullikson, Eric Martini and Gabby Volkers won those battles and took home features wins.
The WISSOTA Street Stocks rolled on the track for the night’s first feature. John Adams and Justin Pogones led the way and Pogones shot into the lead as the green flew. Adams grabbed second and Kurt Becken took third while Adams raced to Pogones’ side. Pogones held off Adams keeping first and Becken passed Adams for second. Dave Read moved in and battled Adams for third as Becken chased down the #01. Becken rode Pogones’ bumper, but Pogones put his foot down and pulled away. Pogones and Becken had a good lead, but Read claimed third and closed in on them. Read was working on Becken for second as the checkers were waved. Pogones drove his Northway Sports sponsored streeter into victory lane for the third time at Princeton. Becken, Read, Jim Gullikson and Adams took the top points.
Cory Bauman took the lead when the green dropped for the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature. Gino Fontecchio grabbed second with Bud Martini, Ryan Putnam and Jason Hall going for third. Putnam moved to the high groove and passed everyone taking the lead. Martini moved into second but the yellow flew. The restart had Putnam in command, but Martini and Jason VandeKamp joined him going three wide for the point.
Putnam retained the lead but Martini and VandeKamp kept close battling for second. Martini took over second, but VandeKamp didn’t back down. VandeKamp was back at Martini’s door as they rounded the bullring. Putnam was three wheeling around turn two as he drifted high and went over the edge. The yellow flew and Putnam gave up is lead. VandeKamp was first on the restart with Martini moving to his door. VandeKamp pulled away this round and took the checkers with Martini, Chad Fouquette, Jason Hall and Dave Siercks as the top drivers.
 Mitch Hribar drove away from the competition as the WISSOTA Mod Fours took the green. Tommy Bawden moved to Hribar’s door for the lead, but Hribar quickly pulled away. The Thell Brothers of Keith and Kyle moved next to Chad Funt for third and they ran three wide. Kyle Thell took the point and passed Bawden for second as the yellow waved.
 Hribar lead through three cautions with Bawden and Kyle Thell behind him. Thell drove to Hribar’s side for the lead, but again Hribar sped away. Landon Atkinson joined Thell for second as the white flew. Hribar grabbed the white, and with two turns left, his car flew over the tracks edge bringing out a yellow. Hribar coasted to the back of the field with Thell and Atkinson going for first. Thell took the win with Atkinson, Bawden, Brandon Linquist and Keith Thell as the top finishers.
 Kyle Robideau and Chris Wark brought the WISSOTA Super Stocks on the track for the next feature. Wark and Robideau battled for first with Dan Gullikson and Dave Mass joining in. Robideau, Wark, Mass and Gullikson ran their Supers four wide around the little Princeton Speedway. Gullikson broke away claiming the lead with Wark holding second. Mass took third and Shane Sabraski passed Robideau grabbing fourth. Mass moved to the high groove and ran parallel with Wark for second. Sabraski also took the high line and ran behind Mass. Mass, Wark and Sabraski all went for second, as Mass nosed ahead. The high line was faster as Sabraski took third and Wark fell to fourth. Sabraski began to make his move on Mass, but the checkers were flying for Gullikson who took the win. Mass, Sabraski, Wark and Robideau took the top five points.
 Erik Gruhlke and Zac Hribar battled for first as the Hornets took the track. Gabby Volkers broke her way through the traffic and took the lead with Matthew Dibb following her lead. Dibb claimed second and Hribar held third, but Brandon Mehrwerth moved into fourth and took third from Hribar. Volkers drove away and put her bright yellow #24 into victory lane with Dibb, Mehrwerth and Hribar as the top four.
The WISSOTA Modifieds grabbed everyone’s attention as Toby Patchen, Dave Mass, Eric Martini and Mike Kyllonen went four wide as the green dropped. Three laps went by with all four drivers fighting for the lead when finally Kyllonen broke away. Martini took second and moved to Kyllonen’s side. Martini took the point as Mass and Shane Sabraski ran door to door for third and moved next to Kyllonen. They ran three wide for second as the yellow flew.
The drivers were sorted with Martini leading the way. Mass took second while Dave Cain joined Kyllonen and Sabraski for third. Kyllonen fell back giving Cain and Sabraski the chance to duke it out. Mass moved aside Martini for first while Cain and Sabraski battled for third. Mass just didn’t have the snuff as Martini pulled away again. Cain and Sabraski continued to run door to door until Cain finally broke away and locked in third with few laps to go. Mass gave it one more run at Martini, but Martini held him back and took the win. Mass, Cain, Sabraski and Trent Follmer took the top points.
Next Friday is Kids Night and Meet the Drivers night at the Princeton Speedway. The night will feature events for the kids as well as a prolonged intermission for kids to join drivers on the track for a night of fun. Racing will resume at 7pm.
WISSOTA Modifieds
Feature- Eric Martini, Dave Mass, Dave Cain, Shane Sabraski, Trent Follmer, Dustin Nelson, Toby Patchen, Mike Kyllonen, Charlie Hillukka, J.B. Stortz, Ryan Canon, Larry Zeller, Shawn Fletcher, Tony Proell
Heat 1- Patchen, Martini, Stortz, Kyllonen, Canon, Nelson, Fletcher
Heat 2- Cain, Hillukka, Mass, Sabraski, Zeller, Follmer, Proell
WISSOTA Super Stocks
Feature- Dan Gullikson, Dave Mass, Shane Sabraski, Chris Wark, Kyle Robideau, Dave Read, Dexton Koch, Tyler Mecl, Marcus Simonson, Tim Patchen
Heat 1- Mecl, Sabraski, Robideau, Koch, Read
Heat 2- Gullikson, Wark, Mass, Simonson, Patchen
WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds
Feature- Jason VandeKamp, Bud Martini, Chad Fouquette, Jason Hall, Dave Siercks, Tyler English, Corey Koenig, Gino Fontecchio, Jacob Toepper, Ryan Putnam, Cory Bauman, Elizabeth Toepper, Larry Paulson
Heat 1- VandeKamp, Martini, Bauman, Hall, Koenig, Paulson, E. Toepper
Heat 2- Siercks, Putnam, Fontecchio, English, J. Toepper
WISSOTA Street Stocks
Feature- Justin Pogones, Dave Read, Kurt Becken, Jim Gullikson, John Adams, Brad Schmidt, Ryan Kostreba, Rod deBernardeaux, Pat Zerfas, Jon Gunderson, Amanda Milbrandt
Heat 1- Read, deBernardeaux, Zerfas, Kostreba, Gunderson, Schmidt
Heat 2- Gullikson, Pogones, Becken, Adams, Milbrandt
Feature- Kyle Thell, Landon Atkinson, Tommy Bawden, Brandon Linquist, Keith Thell, Ross Mead, Andy Mayavski, Dave Bawden, Jr., Logan Draack, Nick Jelacie, Chad Funt, Dan Kastner, Courtney Murray, Mitch Hribar, Mike Rau, Andy Nelson, Corry VanMil
Heat 1- Atkinson, Nelson, Bawden, Mayavski, Mead, Kastner,
Heat 2- VanMil, Hribar, Funt, Draack, Bawden, Jr., Murray
Heat 3- Ky. Thell, Linquist, Ke. Thell, Rau, Jelacie
Princeton Hornets
Feature- Gabby Volkers, Matthew Dibb, Brandon Mehrwerth, Zac Hribar, Erik Gruhlke, Jasmin Matthewman, Alicia Moonet, Ariel Mueller
Heat- Dibb, Volkers, Gruhlke, Mehrwerth, Hribar, Matthewman, Moonet, Mueller