Luncheon tickets available Aug. 12 for MHS Hall of Fame induction

Tickets for the next Milaca High School Hall of Fame induction ceremony luncheon will be available starting Monday, Aug. 12.

The induction ceremony will be Saturday, Sept. 14, at the Milaca American Legion banquet room. There will be a social time at 11 a.m., followed by a luncheon at 11:30 and the induction ceremony at 12:15.

Tickets for the luncheon are $15 and will be available at First National Bank and the Milaca High School District Office, or by emailing Dave Leom at [email protected]

There is no charge to attend the induction ceremony, however, seating is limited.

The Milaca High School Hall of Fame will add eight members.

The latest inductees are alumni Dean Isaacson, professor and co-director of Graduate Studies at Iowa State University, Hollywood actress Belle Bennett, trick shooter/shotgun showman Tom Knapp, business and civic leader John Kuether, civic leader and current city council member Ken Muller and longtime banker and community volunteer Jeanette (Stromberg) DeHart. Non-alumni inductees are former Milaca teacher/coach Merl Soderstrom and businesswoman Florence Wahl.

Bennett, Kuether, Wahl and Knapp are deceased. Knapp died April 26.

The Milaca High School Hall of Fame acknowledges former students, school personnel or community members who have brought special recognition to themselves or to Milaca High School by demonstrating high qualities of character and leadership during of following their time at MHS.

The 2013 class will be the third group chosen by the Hall of Fame Committee.

Marlain Brufloldt, Herb Claffy, Gerald Lang, Marian Hansen Majerle, Paul Olson, Harold Pluimer and Paul Trimble were the first inductees in 2009. Pete and Thora Allen, Dave Hubers, Bud Wessman, Sheila Peterson, Earl Eli, Gigi Chawla and Karen Reineke were inducted in 2011.

Plaques honoring members of the hall of fame are on display near the entrance to the gymnasium at Milaca High School.

September 14 is also the date for the annual Ultra Golf Tournament at Stones Throw Golf Course. That event is held in the afternoon.