Princeton Speedway Results: Aug. 23, 2013

The Princeton Speedway had a stellar night of WISSOTA Amsoil Dirt Track Racing Series action Friday night with great finishes in every race. It was the track’s final kids night and 30 bikes were awarded to lucky kids along with Jr. Fans and Jr. Announcers participating in the nights events. Dave Read, Bud Martini, Kyle Thell, Shane Sabraski, Matthew Dibb and J.B. Stortz took home the feature wins.

The first feature of the night was for the WISSOTA Street Stocks and Jon Gunderson and Amanda Milbrandt lead the way. Milbrandt shot into the lead with Rod deBernardeaux and Gunderson at it for second. Justin Pogones and Dave Read made their way into the top five and alongside Ben Rothstein for fourth. The yellow flew for Alec Nesbit sitting sideways in turn two and drivers were realigned.

Milbrandt was first on the restart with Gunderson in second. Read and Pogones charged into second and third as Read grabbed the high groove. Read passed Milbrandt for the lead and Pogones took second. Milbrandt held third as the yellow flew again.

Pogones chose the low groove and moved to Read’s door as the green reappeared. Read and Pogones drove door to door through the curves as checkers were in sight. Read nosed ahead and took win giving him a clean sweep in his Wollak Construction powered Street Stock. Pogones, Milbrandt, Gunderson and Rothstein took top points.

After a first lap restart, the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds were back to green with Jeremy Nelson in the lead. Kyle Matuska took second and Denis Czech grabbed third, but Matuska’s car began to smoke and he stalled exiting the track. The yellow flew and drivers were realigned.

Nelson was alone on the restart with Czech and Bud Martini in tow. Nelson drove away while Czech and Martini drove side by side. Czech began to pull away but Martini moved back to his door. They drove side by side for laps until Martini moved to the low line and slid next to Nelson. Nelson and Martini raced door to door and closed in on slower cars. With the white waving Nelson went between the slower cars and kept the lead with Martini still hot on his trail. Nelson drove into turn two but went too high catching the track’s edge. Martini took the opportunity and shot past Nelson for first. Martini took the win with Czech, Nelson, Jason Hall and Shane Sabraski as the top drivers.

Corry VanMil and Mike Rau brought the WISSOTA Mod Fours to the green, but VanMil spun in turn two and everyone scattered to miss him. The yellow flew and the field was reset with Chad Funt on the pole. Funt took the lead as the green flew with Brandon Linquist and Rau in a battle for second. Linquist took second and Landon Atkinson moved into third. Atkinson slid aside Linquist but Linquist worked the high groove and drove past Funt for first. Atkinson also moved aside Funt as the yellow waved.

A couple restarts kept the drivers at a coast but Linquist continued to lead the way. Atkinson and Thell were on Linquist’s rear as Thell quickly took second and moved next to Linquist. Thell made the pass for first with two laps to go. Thell took the checkered flag and rolled into victory lane with Linquist, Atkinson, Funt and Mitch Hribar taking the top five points.

Joel Collins took the lead as the WISSOTA Super Stock feature began. Dave Read moved into second while Dexton Koch challenged Kyle Robideau for third. Read moved next to Collins for first and they battled for a few laps. Meanwhile Shane Sabraski took third from Koch and closed in on the leaders. Sabraski drove in the middle of Read and Collins, but they drove away. Read finally broke away from Collins for first and Sabraski moved into second. Sabraski then passed Read and took the lead while they caught a slower car. Sabraski passed the car and as they went through turn four Josh Schmidt spun and everyone dodged him. Sabraski was alone on the restart with Read and Koch behind him. Koch took second while Sabraski finished the final laps taking the win. Read, James Trantina and Mike Loomis rounded out the top cars.

Ariel Mueller and Jasmin Matthewman brought the hornets around the track and Matthewman took the lead as the green dropped. Erik Gruhlke took second and Matthew Dibb cruised into third. Gruhlke moved next to Matthewman for first and took the point. Gruhlke then drifted to the high side which allowed Dibb to shoot past him and Matthewman on the low side. Dibb took the lead and finished the feature in first putting his Bradford Garage sponsored #22 in victory lane.

The final feature of the night belonged to the WISSOTA Modifieds with Jeremy Nelson and Larry Zeller on the pole. Zeller sped away when the green flew with Nelson and Clayton Wagamon behind him. Nelson grabbed the low groove and moved next to Zeller. Nelson was a bit faster out of the turns but Zeller kept close. Nelson and Zeller pulled away from the others while J.B. Stortz took third from Wagamon. Stortz closed the gap with the leaders while Nelson broke away. Stortz began to work Zeller for second as Eric Martini moved in. Stortz and Martini put the pressure on Zeller until they both passed him. The yellow then flew forcing Nelson to slow down.

Nelson drove away on the restart while Martini and Stortz bounced back and forth for second. Stortz secured the point and closed in on Nelson. With the race winding down, Stortz caught Nelson and made the pass as the checkers waved. Stortz took the win with Nelson, Martini, Wagamon and Shane Sabraski as the top drivers.

Next Friday night will be Season Championship night and with the regular season coming to an end its time for post season specials. The Princeton Speedway will host its first ever two day show on September 20 and 21! The Ptown Showdown will feature WISSOTA Modifieds, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Street Stocks, Mod Fours and hornets with two complete nights of racing and payout bonuses for racers who win each night. Racing will begin at 7 pm, see you at the bullring.

WISSOTA Modifieds
Feature- J.B. Stortz, Jeremy Nelson, Eric Martini, Clayton Wagamon, Shane Sabraski, Larry Zeller, Andy Jones, Dustin Nelson, Toby Patchen, Shawn Fletcher, Tony Proell, Landon Atkinson, Dave Mass
Heat 1- Mass, Jones, Stortz, Sabraski, Fletcher, D. Nelson, Patchen
Heat 2- Wagamon, Martini, J. Nelson, Zeller, Proell, Atkinson, Kyllonen

WISSOTA Super Stocks
Feature- Shane Sabraski, Dexton Koch, Dave Read, James Trantina, Mike Loomis, Joel Collins, Dan Gullikson, Kyle Robideau, Jeff Frey, Chris Wark, Josh Schmidt, Donnie Lofdahl
Heat 1- Gullikson, Collins, Lofdahl, Robideau, Frey, Loomis
Heat 2- Sabraski, Trantina, Read, Koch, Wark, Schmidt

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds
Feature- Bud Martini, Denis Czech, Jeremy Nelson, Jason Hall, Shane Sabraski, Tyler English, Dave Siercks, Gino Fontecchio, Elizabeth Toepper, Josh Paulson, Jacob Toepper, Kyle Matuska, Ryan Putnam
Heat 1- Hall, Putnam, Nelson, Matuska, English, Paulson, Siercks
Heat 2- Sabraski, Martini, Czech, Fontecchio, J. Toepper, E. Toepper

WISSOTA Street Stocks
Feature- Dave Read, Justin Pogones, Amanda Milbrandt, Jon Gunderson, Ben Rothstein, Ryan Kostreba, Rod deBernardeaux, Brad Schmidt, Pat Zerfas, Kyle Howland, Wes Howland, Alec Nesbit, Russell Peterson, James Becker
Heat 1- Pogones, Milbrandt, Rothstein, Zerfas, Becker, Nesbit, Peterson
Heat 2- Read, deBernardeaux, Gunderson, Schmidt, Kostreba, K. Howland, W. Howland

Feature- Kyle Thell, Brandon Linquist, Landon Atkinson, Chad Funt, Mitch Hribar, Keith Thell, Andy Mayavski, Dwight Gilyard, Abby Garin, Ross Mead, Nick Jelacie, Gerry Nohner, Daniel Kastner, Courtney Murray, Mike Rau, Corry VanMil
Heat 1- Atkinson, Linquist, Ky. Thell, Rau, Mead, Mayavski, Garin, Jelacie
Heat 2- Funt, VanMIl, Gilyard, Hribar, Ke. Thell, Kastner, Nohner, Murray

Feature- Matthew Dibb, Erik Gruhlke, Jasmin Matthewman, Zac Hribar, Ariel Mueller
Heat- Dibb, Gruhlke, Hribar, Matthewman, Mueller