PHS speech team places high in recent meets as it heads to section

The Princeton High School speech team has done well in recent weeks on its way to the Section 7AA meet this Saturday in Grand Rapids. The team came in second on March 22 at Cambridge-Isanti High School, placed second at the Mississippi 8 Conference meet May 19 in St. Francis, and was second at the Milaca invitational March 15.

Cambridge-Isanti invitational

The Cambridge-Isanti team won the meet, followed by Princeton, Maple Grove and Fridley. The individual results for that meet are:

–Storytelling – Gino Fraboni, second; Josh Malley, sixth; and Megan Carlberg, eighth.

–Great speeches – Emma Carlberg, first, and Annika Peterson, second.

–Original oratory – Michael Huebsch, third.

–Creative expression – Katie Trdan, fourth, and Allie Levandoski, honorable mention.

–Discussion – Zakk Smith, fourth.

–Poetry – Sam Glauvitz, fourth, and Becky Case, honorable mention.

–Prose – Alex Savage, fifth.

–Humorous – Matt Kreft, fourth, and Bailey Thorson, honorable mention.

–Extemp reading – Haley Wold, seventh, and Abbi Miller, honorable mention.

–Drama – C.J. Sedam, eighth, and Moriah Nelson, honorable mention.


Conference meet

Cambridge-Isanti won the conference meet, followed by Princeton, St. Michael-Albertville, St. Francis, North Branch, Buffalo, Rogers and Chisago Lakes.

The individual results for that meet are:

–Storytelling – Fraboni, champion and all conference; Morgan Snyder, second and all conference; Adam Sandquist, third and all conference honorable mention; Zoe Thorson, fourth and all conference honorable mention.

–Poetry – Glauvitz, champion and all conference; and Matt Girtz, second and all conference.

–Original oratory – Huebsch, second and all conference.

–Humorous – Kreft, third and all conference honorable mention.

–Great speeches – Peterson, champion and all conference, and Carlberg, second and all conference.

–Extemp reading – Katie Hicks, second and all conference, and Miller, fifth.

–Extemp speaking – Riley Tongen, fourth and all conference honorable mention.

–Discussion – Smith, fifth.

–Drama – Sedam, fifth.

–Duo interpretation – Megan Anderson and Morgan Jensen, sixth.


Milaca Invitational

Fridley was the sweeps champion, followed by Princeton, Cambridge-Isanti and Milaca.

The results were:

–Discussion – Megan Frandsen, second; Smith, third; and Winter Manisto-Saari fourth.

–Extemp reading – Hicks, second, and Wold, third.

–Extemp speaking – Tongen, fifth.

–Great speeches – Peterson, second, and Carlberg, third.

–Creative expression – Levandoski, third; Abby McCray, fourth; and Trdan, sixth.

–Humorous – Kreft third, Rebecca Phillips fifth, and Bailey Thorson and Jeff Erbstosser honorable mention.

–Original oratory – Huebsch, second.

–Poetry – Glauvitz, fourth; Girtz, fifth; and Case, honorable mention.

–Prose – Savage, sixth; Meghan Moore, seventh; and Sarah Fagerness, eighth.

–Storytelling – Carlberg, fifth, and Zoe Thorson, seventh.