District football update for 2015

Milaca’s position and the teams within their subdistrict for the 2015-16 seasons were confirmed by Jerry Westphal, Milaca activities director, at the School Board meeting last Wednesday.

Milaca will join Albany, Foley, Little Falls, Zimmerman, Becker, St. Cloud Cathedral and New London-Spicer in the North subdistrict of the East Central District.

The South subdistrict would include Annandale, Dassel-Cokato, Delano, Glencoe-Silver Lake, Holy Family Catholic, Hutchinson, Litchfield and Watertown-Mayer.

“Next year I would assume we would play one of the middle schools in the south, with a similar size enrollment,” Westhphal said of the remaining regular season game for 2015.

Four possibilities he mentioned were Delano, Glencoe-Silver Lake, Litchfield or Holy Family Catholic.

“One of those four would be our first game of the season or our non-conference game, so to speak,” Westphal said.

The district and subdistrict commitments are for two years, the 2015-16 and 2016-17 school years.

Overall, Westphal said that he and the Milaca football coaches are pretty happy with how they made out within the change.

“The bottom line is that this is something that is going to happen, and we have to deal with it,” Westphal said. “We feel that we got the best out of the worst in this situation with who we were put with.”

Playoff pairings would remain unchanged. Milaca will still belong to the same section, and the same process will be followed to earn a trip to state as in years past.