Write-in to determine School seat

Voters in the Milaca School District will have three choices for four open spots on the School Board when they head to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 4.
That means a write-in candidate will have an opportunity to be elected to the Milaca Board of Education.
And voters who live in the city of Milaca will be deciding who will sit on the dais as mayor and fill two City Council seats.
Another local race of interest to Mille Lacs County voters is the race for Mille Lacs County attorney, which has heated up in the past few weeks.
In the race for the Milaca School District Board of Education, three people — including incumbent Todd Quaintance — are running for four seats. Other candidates are Sarah Ploeger and Brandon Baker. The fourth seat will be elected by write-in. Three of the four seats are open because School Board Members Mark Herzing, Jody Chambers and Judy Pearson are not seeking re-election.
In the city of Milaca, Princeton Mayor Pete Pedersen is being challenged by Martin Shir.
Council Members Wayne Bekius and Norris Johnson are seeking re-election to the council and are being challenged by Laurie Gahm and Israel Powell.
On the Mille Lacs County level, auditor-treasurer Phil Thompson and Sheriff Brent Lindgren are running unopposed.
The Milaca area has a race for county commissioner in District 4, which includes Bogus Brook Township, the city of Bock and the townships of Borgholm, Hayland, Mudgett and Lewis. It also includes a swath on the county’s west and central parts, going from Page Township on the district’s south end just above Milaca Township, continuing north to include the townships of Dailey, Bradbury and Onamia. Incumbent Roger Tellinghuisen is being challenged by Paula Soderberg.
But it’s the race for Mille Lacs County attorney that’s might be garnering the most attention in the area.
Assistant County Attorney Mark Herzing is facing private practice attorney Joe Walsh. The two emerged to the forefront of the race for county attorney after defeating incumbent Jan Jude in an August primary.
Voters will also be heading to the polls to vote for a number of candidates who will sit in both St. Paul and Washington, D.C.
In the race for District 15A state representative, longtime representative and Republican candidate Sondra Erickson will face DFLer James Rittenour for the right to represent the district the next two years in the Minnesota House. This is an off-year for state Senate.
In the race for governor, DFL incumbent Mark Dayton faces GOP challenger Jeff Johnson and Independent Party candidate Hannah Nicollet.
Voters will also vote for secretary of state, state auditor and attorney general. In the secretary of state race, longtime secretary of state Mark Ritchie is not seeking re-election. Republican Dan Severson is running against DFLer Steve Simon and Independent Bob Hellend. For state auditor, DFL incumbent Rebecca Otto is facing GOP candidate Randy Gilbert and Independent Patrick Dean. In the attorney general race, DFL incumbent Lori Swanson is being challenged by Republican Scott Newman and Independent Brandan Borgos.
Area voters will also be choosing a U.S. senator and congressman.
For senator, incumbent DFLer Al Franken is being challenged by Republican Mike McFadden and Independent Steve Carlson. In the District 8 race for U.S. Representative, Republican Stewart Mills and Green Party candidate Ray Sandman are challenging DFL incumbent Rick Nolan.
Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday,  Nov. 4. Polls will be open at town halls in Bogus Brook, Borgholm, Milaca, Milo, and Page townships. Polls will also be open at Bock City Hall, Foreston City Hall, Milaca City Hall and Pease City Hall.